Thursday, November 19, 2009

Nearly 20,000 SBA Loan Applications Yet to be Returned; November 23 is Deadline to Apply for Physical Damage

(BUSINESS WIRE)--With only a few days remaining before the November 23, application deadline for physical disaster loans, the U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) announces that it has approved 1,085 disaster loans for $40,361,300 to Georgia homeowners, renters, businesses and non-profit organizations affected by the September 2009 severe storms and flooding.

“We want to thank all of our federal, state and local partners, as well as the volunteer organizations and individuals that helped the SBA to provide financial assistance to the victims,” said Frank Skaggs, director of SBA’s Field Operations Center East.

“However, there are nearly 20,000 people who have not returned their SBA loan applications. These individuals have until November 23 to return completed applications for physical damage to the SBA. Homeowners or renters who do not qualify for a disaster loan may be referred to FEMA for grant consideration.

Interest rates are as low as 2.750 percent for homeowners and renters and 4 percent for businesses with terms up to 30 years. The SBA sets loan amounts and terms based on each applicant’s financial condition. These loans are for uninsured or uncompensated losses up to SBA’s loan limits.

All Disaster Loan Outreach Centers and Business Recovery Centers in the disaster area will cease operations at the close of business Monday, November 23. Victims in the following counties in Georgia are eligible to apply for SBA’s physical disaster loans: Bartow, Carroll, Catoosa, Chattooga, Cherokee, Cobb, Coweta, DeKalb, Douglas, Fulton, Gwinnett, Heard, Newton, Paulding, Rockdale, Stephens and Walker.

SBA Center locations and hours of operation are as follows:

Disaster Loan Outreach Centers

Cherokee County

Cobb County

DeKalb County
Cherokee County Parks & Recreation Gym

The Threadmill

Browns Mill Recreation Center
7545 Main Street, Building 200

5000 Austell/Powder Springs Rd, Suite 120

5101 Browns Mill Road
Woodstock, GA 30188

Austell, GA 30106

Lithonia, GA 30058
Open: Mon-Fri; 9 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Open: Mon-Fri; 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Open: Mon-Fri; 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.
Douglas County

Fulton County

Gwinnett County
Old Douglas County Court House

Fulton County Government Center

Mountain Park Depot
6754 Broad Street

141 Pryor Street SW

5050 Five Forks Trickum Rd.
Douglasville, GA 30134

Atlanta, GA 30303

Lilburn, GA 30047
Open: Mon-Fri; 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Open: Mon-Fri; 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Open: Mon-Fri; 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

SBA Business Recovery Centers

Cobb County

Douglas County

Fulton County
Powder Springs Library

Douglas County Chamber of Commerce

Government Service Center
4181 Atlanta Street – Bldg. 1

6658 Church Street

7741 Roswell Road
Powder Springs, GA 30127

Douglasville, GA 30134

Atlanta, GA 30350
Open: Mon-Fri; 9 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.

Open: Mon-Fri; 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Open: Mon-Fri; 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Anyone unable to visit one of the Centers may obtain information and loan applications by calling the SBA’s Customer Service Center at 1-800-659-2955 (or 1-800-877-8339 for the hearing impaired) Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 9 p.m. EST, or by sending an email to Business loan applications may be downloaded from Applications may be returned to any of the Centers or mailed to: U.S. Small Business Administration, Processing and Disbursement Center, 14925 Kingsport Road, Fort Worth, Texas, 76155.

Georgia disaster victims may visit SBA’s secure Web site at to apply for disaster loans.

The filing deadline to return applications for physical property damage is November 23, 2009. The deadline to return economic injury applications is June 24, 2010.

Georgia Front Page
Fayette Front Page
Follow us on Twitter: @GAFrontPage

No comments: