Sunday, August 17, 2008

Special Run-off August 16th, District 13

A Special Primary Election was held on August 5 for state Senate District 13. No candidate received the required majority of the vote.

A run-off election will be held on Tuesday, August 26, 2008 between the two candidates who received the most votes, Republican John Dickey Crosby and Republican Wally Roberts. State Senate District 13 comprises Ben Hill, Crisp, Irwin, Lee, Tift, Turner and Worth counties, and a portion of Wilcox County. Voters are eligible to vote in the Special Primary Run-off if they were eligible to vote in the July 15, 2008 General Primary and did not choose a Democratic ballot in the General Primary or the General Primary Run-off.

Polls will be open from 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. on Election Day. Advance voting week will be held Monday, August 18 through Friday, August 22, 2008. To find advance voting locations in your county, please contact your county registrar’s office. Contact information can be found on the 2008 Elections Center website:

Voters can request an absentee ballot from their county registrar’s office through the close of business on Friday, August 22, 2008. All absentee ballots must be received by the county registrar by close of business on Election Day, August 26, 2008. Photo identification is not required when voting by mail.

Voters will be required to show photo identification when voting in person. For more information on the requirements for photo ID, please call 1-877-725-9797 or visit
Community News You Can Use

No comments: